Music News

The Courtneys’ Courtney Garvin Announces New Gum Country Album, Shares Song: Listen

Courtney Garvin, best known as a member of the Courtneys, has a new band with multi-instrumentalist Connor Mayer called Gum Country. Today, they’ve announced their debut album. It’s titled Somewhere and it’s out June 19 (via Kingfisher Bluez/Burger/Dinosaur City/Waterslide). Check out the album’s title track in the video below.

“I wrote ‘Somewhere’ a couple years after moving to L.A.,” Garvin said in a statement. “It’s about leaving a place that you are comfortable in and landing in a strange new one, and discovering what parts of your identity remain and which were left behind. The first line I wrote was ‘haven’t felt this way in a while, I can’t think straight can’t hide my smile, I guess this is gonna be my life for a while,’ and then it was just a process of unravelling that thought. I think the song could be about the range of emotions that come with any big change, and ultimately settling on a mellow excitement for vulnerability.”


01 Somewhere
02 The Queen Rules
03 Tennis (I Feel Ok)
04 There’s a Crumb
05 I Don’t Stay Up
06 Pills
07 Brain Song
08 It Lives It Breeds It Feeds
09 Whoa Oh
10 Talking to My Plants
11 Jungle Boy
12 Waterfall

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button